Gifts from God – A Reflection for the Fourth Sunday of Easter

By Sister Joanne Frey, MHSH

We are now a new creation*.  Is your spirit rejoicing in the Risen Christ? His gifts are coming in such quantity that I’m placing them in special packets labeled with his message reworded to fit my memory.

LET PEACE SURROUND YOU. The Risen Jesus spoke that message repeatedly to help us recognize the importance of this basic garment. Without peace our senses become clogged with daily trivia and thus dulled to their proper functions of seeing, listening, responding—and so blinded, deafened, imprisoned that we struggle to be, to no avail. We must cut ourselves free to become whom we are called to be:  peace makers, inheritors of the earth.

new beginnings 3_jason-naudi-photographyHis second gift, FEAR NOT, I AM WITH YOU.  How strong those words are! Trust me. I am here with you. Today. This moment, in this very situation. Trust beyond belief. Put your fingers in the place of the nails. Your hand into my side. It is I. Here, today, now in this moment. Be not afraid. Oh, yes, it can look like all has been sacrificed. But there is a spark in those embers. A new creation awaits your creation. Be not afraid. Begin to build anew. There is that person who needs your healing touch, smile, word. Give it. Be not afraid.

loaves-and-fishes 2Now, yet a third gift:  COME AND BE FED.  This is the invitation I open over and over again. Surely it is our Risen Lord on the seashore providing the food as has been his practice and continues to be to this very moment and beyond. Isn’t He the best ever!! The food is prepared, ready to be eaten. Enjoy this best of company. And expect the future times of eating together. It is a gift certificate that keeps on giving.  I want to share my food, my peace, my trust, with all of my brothers and sisters.  I ask God to ground me ever more completely in His love. I trust Him to feed me daily with His living bread.

Reflection:

What now, Lord?
Filled with your peace, your confidence,
your trust, your living bread. I come to be
one with you, today, every today…

“…whoever is in Christ is a new creation:  the old things have passed away; behold, new things have come.”  –2 Cor:17 

This entry was posted in Reflections, Seasonal Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gifts from God – A Reflection for the Fourth Sunday of Easter

  1. Sr. Donna says:

    Spot on!

  2. Dolores SSJ says:

    I love what you have written, Joanne. So true and so deep! Thank you. Dolores SSJ

Leave a Reply

