THIS IS MY CHOSEN ONE: A Reflection for the Second Sunday of Lent

By Sister Natalie DeLuca, MHSH

Reflecting on the Word for this Sunday [Lk.9:28b-36], the music of Bernadette Farrell danced like a recurring melody through my head:

God has chosen me, God has chosen me to bring good news to the poor,
God has chosen me, God has chosen me to bring new sight to those searching for light,
God has chosen me, chosen me:
And to tell the world that God’s kingdom is near,
to remove oppression and break down fear, yes, God’s time is near, God’s time is near.

And then it went to my heart.  Is it possible that these were some of the thoughts that captured the heart of Jesus?  Out of a cloud that cast a shadow, a voice proclaimed, “This is my Son, the chosen One.  Listen to Him.”  Jesus had climbed that mountain to pray and then He hears this response and call.  What do we hear each time we approach the Eucharistic table?

Lent 2nd Sunday_04 mountainMany years ago, when I was a neophyte Mission Helper of the Sacred Heart, I heard one of our seasoned Mission Helper Sisters (Sister Virgine Pugh) tell her fourth grade children in language they would understand, “Jesus comes and says to you, “I have chosen you. You are my beloved. Join with me in bringing God’s Kingdom to earth.”  I never forgot that moment of sound theological teaching.

For reflection:

  • Can receiving the Eucharist become “ordinary” or “routine”?
  • Is it possible to miss Christ’s unique and special revelation proclaimed in Sunday scripture?
  • Place yourself at the scene, on the mountaintop; and with the eyes and ears of your heart be with Jesus and the apostles, and respond to the Voice.
This entry was posted in Liturgical Seasons, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to THIS IS MY CHOSEN ONE: A Reflection for the Second Sunday of Lent

  1. Dolores SSJ says:

    THanks, Natalie. A reminder of how often we hear those words “I have chosen you.” God bless! Dolores SSJ

Leave a Reply

