The Lesson of the Recycle Bucket

By Sister Jane Geiger, MHSH

When I first began to work with clay, the instructor explained that we do not control the clay but we unite with it.  The clay will teach us how to shape it.

Well, in my pottery experience I have had many conversations with clay.  Sometimes we get along very well and other times the piece is off center, misshapen and destined for the recycle bucket.  Not very satisfying.  What did I have to learn?

In clay work as in life, there is a journey and a process and each stage is important and serves its purpose in getting to the desired end.  I tend to be impatient and want to get the job done and see immediate results.  But it is not like that with clay or in our life experience.  I learned this the hard way.  Clay too moist collapses; pieces not dried out explode in the kiln; improper glazing results in bubbling and crawling; and an interrupted cooling process causes (of all things) cracked pots!

Working with clay teaches many lessons, and I had to learn them all as I followed the process from kneading, throwing, drying, firing, glazing—each with its own discipline and all calling for patience, humility, perseverance, as well as a spirit of creativity and imagination.

There will always be days for the recycle bucket, but for me, as I learn to respect the journey and the process, I find working with clay my way of keeping centered and focused.
There is harmony between me and the clay; there is accommodation to my life and the stresses that come.  But more than that is the excitement and sense that God is working with me in my own creation story.  I take the clay of the earth and knead it and shape it to say what God wants me to say.  God is at work!  God is at play!  Clay is fun!  Clay is sacred!

Sister Jane’s creations are on  display at Mission Helper Center. They make great gifts!
       

This entry was posted in A Woman Inspired and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Lesson of the Recycle Bucket

  1. Mary Ita Hayes, MHSH says:

    Beautiful reflections, Jane. Love the pictures. Thanks, Mary Ita

  2. Sr. Donna says:

    Jane: What a great comment on our life with God. We certainly are not alone

  3. sister barbara baker, mhsh says:

    Jane, thank you so much for your beautiful sharing of how clay has taught you so many things a bout life and yourself. You drew some very insightful comparisons between the two. Thank you for your wonderful gift and your sense of humor that came through in your relaying your experience.

    Barbara Baker

  4. Dolores SSJ says:

    Jane, I loved your analogy of clay and life. Thank you. I appreciate, too, the image of uniting with the clay and your speaking with the clay. Your work is so beautiful and I think of you each time I burn the candle that is in the holder that you made. God bless! Dolores SSJ

Leave a Reply

